Who We Are
Founded in 1980, the Society is an international association of persons interested in the art and thought of T. S. Eliot. Our annual meeting is held in St. Louis, the city of Eliot's birth, on the weekend closest to his September 26th birthday. Among other activities, the meeting features the T. S. Eliot Memorial Lecture, given by an eminent scholar or poet. The Fathman Prize is awarded at the meeting for the best paper by a new scholar.

The Society publishes a newsletter, Time Present, three times yearly, and it regularly sponsors sessions at the MLA and SAMLA annual conventions, the conference of the American Literature Association, and the Louisville Conference on Literature & Culture since 1900.

Incorporated as a non-profit organization, the Society is supported by the annual dues of its members. Click here to join (or renew). For further information, please contact us.

The Society is governed by its by-laws, and members are expected to abide by its code of conduct.

*A Note on Our Name Change
At its September 2018 meeting, the Board voted to change the name of our society from the T. S. Eliot Society to the International T. S. Eliot Society in order to reflect both our actual membership and our conference venues. More than a quarter of our members hail from outside the United States, drawn in part by our meetings in Britain, France, and Italy. Our roots, like Eliot’s, are in St. Louis, where the Society began as a small, local organization. But we now have more members from Italy than from Missouri, and our new name reflects these changed realities and our aspiration to welcome Eliot admirers from around the world.

Board of Directors
Jayme Stayer, President
John Whittier-Ferguson, Vice President
Tony Cuda, Secretary
David E. Chinitz, Treasurer
Frances Dickey, Supervisor of Elections
John Morgenstern, Historian
Julia E. Daniel
Melanie Fathman
Nancy K. Gish
Earl Holt III
Cyrena Pondrom
Patrick Query
Vincent Sherry

Honorary Members
Jewel Spears Brooker
Robert Crawford
Lyndall Gordon
John Haffenden
A. D. Moody
Craig Raine
Ronald Schuchard
Marianne Thormählen

Cleanth Brooks
Mrs. Valerie Eliot
Donald C. Gallup
Robert Giroux
Russell Kirk
Andre Osze
Grover C. Smith

Leonard H. Unger

Distinguished Service Awardees
Jewel Spears Brooker
William Charron
Anthony Fathman
Melanie Fathman

Friends of the Society
Massimo Bacigalupo
The Earl of Harrowby
William Marx

T. S. Eliot Memorial Lecturers

David E. Chinitz, 2018
John Haffenden, 2017
Lyndall Gordon, 2016
Jed Esty, 2015
Sarah Cole, 2014
Jahan Ramazani, 2013
Daniel Albright, 2012
Jean-Michel Rabaté, 2011
Michael Levenson, 2010
Ronald Bush, 2009
Grace Schulman, 2008
George T. Wright, 2007
William Blissett, 2006
Robert Crawford, 2005
Craig Raine, 2004
Leon Surette, 2003
Marjorie Perloff, 2002
Geoffrey Hill, 2001
Carl Phillips, 2000
Helen Vendler, 1999
Charles Altieri, 1998
James Longenbach, 1997
Marianne Thormählen, 1996
Louis Menand, 1995
William Harmon, 1994
Christopher Ricks, 1993
Denis Donoghue, 1992
Cleo McNelly Kearns, 1991
Shyamal Bagchee, 1990
Leonard Unger, 1989
A. D. Moody, 1988
James Olney, 1987
Grover Smith, 1986
Ronald Schuchard, 1985
Jewel Spears Brooker, 1984
Earl K. Holt, III, 1983
Charles Guenther, 1982
Robert C. Roach, 1981
Marcella Holloway, 1980
Past Presidents
Frances Dickey (2016 - 2018)
Michael Coyle (2013 - 2015)
David E. Chinitz (2010 - 2012)
William Harmon (2007 - 2009)
Benjamin Lockerd (2004 - 2006)
Shyamal Bagchee (2001 - 2003)
Linda Wyman (1998 - 2000)
Sanford Schwartz (1995 - 1997)
Vinnie-Marie D'Ambrosio (1992 - 1994)
Grover C. Smith (1989 - 1991)
Jewel Spears Brooker (1985 - 1988)


Leslie Konnyu
Könnyü László
(b. 1914, Tamási, Hungary;
d. 1992, St. Louis)